The East Fremantle Women’s League team takes on Swan Districts this Sunday at Medibank Stadium, in what is shaping up to be a fierce battle for the ultimate football title.

The Shark entered last week’s match as the underdogs, but blew away their competition with a stunning 27-point win over the minor premiers. They will be hoping for a repeat performance against the Swans, who advanced straight into the finals after a win against the Coastal Titans in the semis.

The Sharks have demonstrated their skills throughout the season, with consistent football that shows they shouldn’t be underestimated.

Ahead of Sunday’s clash, both Co-Captain Jo Beechey and Coach Steph Walding were in agreement about preparation.

““I think we’ll just stick to the same plan ahead of next week, it seems to have been working for the last two weeks of finals,” Beechey said.

“It won’t be easy, obviously, but we’ve beaten the Swans once this year and if we know we can play that good footy then we should get over the top of them.”

“We’ve been doing the same thing all year so we won’t to change too much, just a few match ups because the Swans are a bit different to the Titans in the way that they play and their players, so we’ll just tweak a few things but mostly the same thing,” Walding said.

The two teams last met in round 10, where East Fremantle had a stellar 13-point win. The Swans won the two earlier encounters, going in to the grand final as the favourites.

The Sharks last won a grand final in 2011 and will be hoping to claim their 7th Premiership on Sunday.  

The game takes on special meaning for Alex Williams, who will run out for her 100th match.

For many of the Sharks, it will be their first Grand Final, however plenty of players have had big game experience. Brianna Green, Melissa Caulfield, Caitlyn Edwards, Alex Williams, Jess Wuetschner, Emma Swanson and Cassie Davidson all having participated in AFL Exhibition matches.

There are also up to 6 of the 2011 Premiership side who could be running out again for the Blue & Whites on Sunday.

The team will also benefit from the Grand Final experiences of Coach Steph Walding, who captained the team to their last Premiership in 2011.  

Team List

2 Nikki Harwood
3 Brianna Green
5 Nicole George
10 Melissa Caulfield
12 Kirsty Soley
13 Tara Avery
14 Belinda Smith
17 Steph Wills
18 Kim Bowey
19 Caitlyn Edwards
20 Alex Williams
21 Zoe Huggett
22 Caitlyn O’Donnell
23 Jessica Wuetschner
24 Ruby Schleicher
27 Gemma Orange
30 Jo Beechey
31 Latoya Wallace
35 Ashleigh Gomes
39 Samara David
40 Ashlee Atkins
42 Sharon Wong
45 Jess Kinsman
52 Stefanie Italiano
53 Tracey Anderson
60 Emma Swanson
64 Zoe Palandri
68 Gabby O’Sullivan
70 Cassie Davidson
77 Jacquie Edwards

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *